Nominated Community Org of 2015 Image for Blog Post

Nominated Community Org of 2015

The Upper Ottawa Valley Chamber of Commerce has announced the finalist for the 12th Annual Business Achievement Awards. A selection committee reviewed the nominations that were received and have named the finalists in each category.

This year’s award recipients will be announced at the Chamber Awards Gala on Saturday, Jan. 30 at Festival Hall Centre for the Arts, in Pembroke. Planning committee chairwoman and UOVCC board member Janice Krieger, says this year’s gala will be the talk of the town.

“There ain’t no party, like a Gatsby Party? We have once again received some excellent nominations from the quality businesses, and the amazing community leaders, here in the Upper Ottawa Valley. Those who have been selected as this year’s finalists should be extremely proud of being nominated and placed in the categories there we chosen in. We are very excited to see the 2015 winners at this year’s Business Gala,” Krieger said.

This year’s Achievement Awards will be featured once again at Festival Hall, Krieger noted.

“Thanks to the overwhelming positive responses we decided to continue with the same venue.”

There will be a show from a local artist DanahKae that will start off the awards ceremony. DanahKae are a local pair coming from the Arnprior region.

“No doubt this local Canadian duo is on an upward spiral, and we are pleased to have them entertain us for or main event,” she said.

There will be nine awards, with the “Skilled Trades Employer” award added back into the mix again this year.

The finalists for the New Business of the Year are All Dolled Up, Pikwakanagan Fuels, and Ry-J’s Climbing Adventures. Small Business of the Year finalists are Lavallee Health Centre, Sheer Madness Hair Desinz, and Thai Gardens. Large Business of the Year finalists are Canadian Tire, Eastway Contracting, and Garrison Petawawa.

This year’s Professional Services of the Year finalists are Active Chiropractic Family Health Centre, Dr. Richard Hobart of Pembroke Animal Hospital, and Lavallee Health Centre. Hospitality Award of the Year finalists are Janna’s Gallery Café, Lavallee Health Centre, and Travelodge Pembroke. Agri-Business of the Year finalists are Hugli’s Blueberry Ranch, M & R Feeds, and Rainbow Heritage Gardens.

In for the Non-Profit/Community Organization category there are three finalists – Robbie Dean Family Counselling Centre, The Phoenix Centre, and Women’s Sexual Assault Centre of Renfrew County. This year’s finalists for Community Ambassador of the Year are Lisa Edmonds and Tammy Blackmore. In the Skills Trades Employer category the finalists for this group are Blagden Welding Inc., Eastway Collision/Valley Collision, and John A. Butler Photography.

The last award during the evening is the Lifetime Business Achievement Award. It was earlier announced at the Chamber’s Annual General Meeting in December that this special recognition will be shared between husband and wife, Dennis and Anne Beech, the previous owners of Canadian Tire Pembroke, store #079.

A new format for the evening, will see doors open at 5:45 p.m. with hors d’oeuvres catered by Ullrich’s on Main served at 6 p.m., and a cash bar of non-alcoholic drinks and beer from two local breweries Whitewater and Square Timber. There will be once again no formal dinner, and we ask that all guests and finalists be seated by 7 p.m. All the Awards Ceremony will be taped by Cogeco TV and will be re-broadcasting at a later date on the community television station throughout Renfrew County.

The tickets are now on sale through the Chamber of Commerce office and are $50+HST or if you buy in a group of four or more at one time, they are $40+HST. For any additional questions or to purchase your tickets call the office at 613-732-1492.